Reading Competition 2019

write a story • win a chance to get it published • get it made into film

Our panel of patrons

Our celebrity panel is very distinguished and we are immensely grateful that they are prepared to give their time to help this competition be a success


Ade Adepitan is Britain's inspirational wheelchair basketball player. Childhood polio forced him into a wheelchair but once he discovered wheelchair basketball his burning ambition was to win gold for his country. In the 2002 and 2005 European Championship he won bronze and silver. At the Athens 2004 Paralympics as Captain of the GB team he sunk the winning shot to win  bronze. He finally  fulfilled his ambition of winning gold  by again producing the winning shot at the 2005 world Championship. Now a television presenter he covered London's 2012 Paralympics for Channel 4 to wide acclaim endearing himself to the public with his knowledge, his charm - and those dreadlocks!

Alistair McGowan is a man of many parts: an impressionist, stand-up comedian, actor, singer and writer. His series 'The Big Impression' was for years the BBC'c top rated comedy programme winning a BAFTA award in 2003. He is an acclaimed actor winning a nomination for an Olivier award for his role in 'Little Shop of Horrors' and his play 'Timing' won the award for Best New Comedy. In 2013 he wowed audiences with a stand up show with Eddie Izzard, performed entirely in French! He's mad about sport so you'll catch him regularly on 'A Question of Sport' and Radio 5 Live's Wimbledon commentary team.

Patricia Hodge is one of Britains best known stars of stage and screen. She was nominated twice for an Olivier award for Best Actor in a Musical before winning the 2000 Olivier award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in 'Money'. She was also nominated for a BAFTA award for her performance in 'Hotel du Lac'. She has appeared in many films notably Harold Pinter's 'Betrayal'. We've all seen her recently as Miranda's mother in the BBC sitcom 'Miranda'.

Jack Whitehall is one of our most exciting young comedians.  Three times winner of the King of Comedy Award - an unrivalled achievement - in 2012, 2013 and 2014, his stand up tours are always a critically acclaimed sell-out. He has written and starred in 'Fresh Meat' and the tragicomic adventures of benighted teacher Alfie in 'Bad Education'. You can see him now in 'A League of Their Own' and what one reviewer called 'the comedy gold' of the 'Bad Education' movie. And take a look at the pictures of our Gala 2016 with Jack presenting prizes to our delighted winners.

Michael Morpurgo needs no introduction. Children and adults alike love his wonderful books - one of my own favourites is the wonderful, touching 'The Butterfly Lion' - which have been turned into operas, ballets, plays and films most notably the glorious, heart rending 'War Horse'. See him with our winners in our Gala pics.

Sir Tim Rice is an Academy award, Golden Globe, Tony and Grammy award winning lyricist best known for 'Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat'. 'Jesus Christ Superstar' and  'Evita'. He has a star on the Hollywood walk of Fame, he's been inducted in the Songwriters Hall of Fame and is a recipient of a Disney Legend.  And he's one of our judges! Whoopee.

 Jane Horrocks is a film and television actress, voice artist, musician and singer, who played the roles of Bubble and Katy Grin in the BBC sitcom Absolutely Fabulous. She was nominated for the 1993 Olivier Award for Best Actress for the title role in The Rise and Fall of Little Voice, and received Golden Globe and BAFTA Award nominations when she reprised the role in the film Little Voice. 



‘Bullseye’ from an original story by Evie Kimber. The Old Vicarage School

Winner: Best Original Script.

Best Voice Over

Best Actress

‘Wolves’ from an original story by Bertie Mead. Lowther Primary School

Winner: Best Costume

Innovation Award

‘A Race to Remember’ from an original story by Rohan Shaunak. The Mall School

Winner: Best Original Story

Best Actor

Best Supporting Actor

Best Use of Props